Certified Medication Aide Course

Now Offering IN PERSON CMA Course
Presented by our amazing instructors 


In-Person Course

Review & Clinical Med Pass Dates: TBD
Location: Alcoeur Gardens at Toms River
1126 Lakewood Rd. Toms River NJ 08753
9 am - 5 pm
course cost: $650.00

 In-Person Course


Review & Clinical Med Pass Dates: TBD
Location: Alcoeur Gardens at Toms River
1126 Lakewood Rd. Toms River NJ 08753
9 am - 5 pm

course cost: $650.00


Medication Administration Trainee

Refers to an individual who receives training to administer medications under the registered professional nurse’s delegation in either an Assisted Living Residence or Comprehensive Personal Care Home, or as part of an Assisted Living Program.


Completed a nurse aide training course approved by the New Jersey State Department of Health and Senior Services and shall have passed the New Jersey Nurse Aide Certification Examination and be currently certified; or Completed a Homemaker-Home Health Aide training program approved by the New Jersey Board of Nursing and shall be so certified by the Board and be currently certified.

Must be able to satisfactorily read, write and comprehend English and demonstrate arithmetic skills.

Successful completion of the medication administration training course, skills evaluation, and a statewide, standardized, written competency test.


Workshop Content

DAY 1:

Review of the delegation process as per the New Jersey Board of Nursing/Nurse Practice Act. Review of all necessary documentation related to the delegation process. Identifying medication-classes, purposes, side effects, prescription labels.

DAY 2:

Scope and limits of responsibility in administering medications in relation to DOH regulations. The Aging process. Inventory, Disposal and Storage of medications.

DAY 3:

The diabetic resident. Vital signs. Eye, Ear, Nasal, Topical, Vaginal, Rectal, and Inhalation medications.

DAY 4:

Full morning practicum with students on all areas covered. Review of all material. Exam and review of exam.

Payment Policy

Full tuition for workshop is $650.00 per student

includes book and all materials plus lunch on the first day!

A $200.00 non refundable deposit is required for each student upon registration.

Balance is due the last day of session on your clinical med pass date.

Accepted methods of payment are cash, money order or Visa/MasterCard/Amex/Discover. 

Send your registration early as student numbers are limited.  


Frequently Asked Questions

Q1: Will periodic re-certification in medication administration be required for CMA’s?

A1: Yes. Every two years. Re-certification requirements can be found at N.J.A.C 8:36-9.2(d)

Q2: If a trainee completes the medication administration-training course but fails the statewide examination, can the examination be repeated?

​A2: The examination may be taken three times. If the trainee fails to pass the examination on the third try, the training course must be repeated.

Q3: Can Person Care Assistants (PCAs) or Certified Nurse Aides (CNAs) who are not Certified Medication Aides (CMAs) supervise the self-administration of medications by a resident?

​A3: Yes. As long as that designated employee has been appropriately trained by the registered professional nurse, and the training is appropriately documented.

Q4: Can CMAs administer medications in Adult/Pediatric Day Care facilities?

​A4: No. As of February 5, 2003, CMAs may only administer medications in Assisted Living Residences, Comprehensive Personal Care Homes, Assisted Living Programs, and Alternate Family Care Homes.

Q5: What is the minimum age for a CALA, CMA, CNA, HHHA, and PCA?


- Certified Assisted Living Administrator (CALA)- 21 

- Certified Medication Aide (CMA)- not specified

- Certified Nurse Aide (C.N.A)- not specified

- Health Aide (HHHA)- not specified

- Personal Care assistant (PCA)- not specified


Q6: What happened if I lost my certificate of attendance for the Train-the-Trainer Workshop?

A6: DHSS does not keep copies of attendee’s certificates. Please make several photocopies of this certificate, in the event facilities or DHSS surveyors request it. Our database goes back to 1995 Train-the –Trainer Workshops. However, we have found that all names may not be entered, and therefore the Certification Program cannot always validate attendance. Instructors, who attended a Workshop more than 5 years ago, may want to attend a current Workshop, since regulations and the Trainer/Trainee Manuals have been updated since that time.

Q7: May CMAs or those having a designation such as a Medication Tech, reciprocated from other states?​

A7: No. New Jersey law has no provision for CMA reciprocity. If the individual is a Certified Nurse Aide (C.N.A) from another state, the C.N.A would need to first complete the reciprocity process for C.N.A. in New Jersey (call PSI at 1-800-274-5984) to obtain a reciprocity package, which includes:

  • Green fingerprint appointment form

  • CBI application

  • NNAAP Nurse Aide/Personal Care Assistant Exam Application

  • Nurse Aide & Personal Care Assistant Candidate Handbook

  • The aide must complete the Medication Aide course conducted by the registered professional nurse and pharmacist; successfully pass a competency evaluation (3-4 mediation pass observations by the registered professional nurse and/or pharmacist); and, successfully pass the Person VUE CMA written examination.

Q8: What if I fail the state test?

​A8: If you fail the examination three (3) times, you will be required to retake a medication aide training program approved by the NJDHSS, schedule a new reservation for the exam and submit a new fee.


To register, please take the time to fill out the information below.

Black on White.png